More tales from Russia

Rachmaninoff’s Concerto per pianoforte e orchestra no. 3 is one of the most virtuoso – and most often played – pieces performed by internationally acclaimed pianists for more than a century. It is notorious for its difficulty, calling for outstanding technique, and also for its length. Stresa Festival is offering an interpretation by a Russian pianist, Nikolai Lugansky, an acknowledged top-rank musician on the worldwide scene. He was a winner of the Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in Moscow in 1994.

The second part of the concert brings Shostakovich’s Symphony no. 9. Composed in 1945 it was intended to celebrate the Soviet victory in the Second World War. The composer, however, decided on a less monumental tribute, and the Symphony is generally appreciated for its classic-style source of inspiration. Lugansky will be accompanied by the Russian National Orchestra conducted by Michael Pletnëv.

Program and cast


Nikolai Lugansky, piano
Russian National Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnëv, conductor


S. RACHMANINOFF, Concerto no. 3  for piano and orchestra
D. ŠOSTAKOVIČ, Symphony no. 9

Buy tickets
September 2019

Stresa Convention Centre

Stresa Convention Centre is situated in the heart of the town, few meters from the railway station and from all the most important hotels and restaurants.

Related events