Maurizio Pollini, a legend in himself

Maurizio Pollini, this evening’s soloist, needs no introduction and his program compares three composers who also reached the peaks of fame in their time.  Beethoven’s op. 106 Hammerklavier is understandably considered one of the most important sonatas ever written, and the Milanese pianist’s interpretation is taken as the absolute reference.  Another of tonight’s items, Luigi Nono’s “…sofferte onde serene…” for piano and magnetic tape, was composed in 1976 and is dedicated to Maurizio and Marilisa Pollini. It is particularly precious, and rarely performed, but is an excellent example of the Venetian composer’s work.

Brahms composed the Tre Intermezzi op. 117 late in his life, in 1892, and they suggest a return to his youthful romanticism, illustrating his ‘debt’ to the masters of the early 19th century.

Program and cast


Maurizio Pollini, piano


J. BRAHMS, Three Intermezzi op. 117
L. NONO, … sofferte onde serene…
L. VAN BEETHOVEN, Sonata op. 106 “Hammerklavier”

Buy tickets
September 2019

Stresa Convention Centre

Stresa Convention Centre is situated in the heart of the town, few meters from the railway station and from all the most important hotels and restaurants.

Related events